Drowning in the deep

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden
2 min readJun 18, 2021

--

Running at a pace I can’t afford to keep

Gotta make a change I find I'm drowning in the deep

*

Too far and I can’t go back

Cant go forward can’t stay here

Admitting that I can’t keep up

leaves me struggling with fear

*

And I know that we had something

Like nothing we ever had before

A magic like a fire inside- that wouldn’t be ignored

*

But we let it slip away, let it go without a fight

Like it wasn’t the air we needed, like it didn’t change our lives

*

I feel Im watching my life go by, like a movie im not in

Standing on the outside- playing a game I can’t win

*

A bus fair at the airport, with no ticket for the flight

A word game and my mind is blank,

last call on a Friday night

*

The bottom of the barrel, at bottom of the list

bottom of the totem pole, a pull that you resist

*

I don’t know where or how or why- you even keep me here

Not quite in and not quite out

and its painfully unclear

Where or what we are or will we ever be again

I just cant keep it up and I just can’t let it end

Originally published at https://vocal.media.

--

--