My palette

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden
2 min readMay 19, 2021

--

Photo by 冬城 on Unsplash

I felt neutral till you saw me

I was empty and void of a shade

A chameleon of sorts visually unseen

My true beauty, was yet to be displayed

*

At least that’s how I saw my reflection

I know now that wasn’t true

Pain and grief bore truth in conception

When my true colors came shining through

*

I was blue when my heart was broken

black and red when I fought for my pride

Green and yellow when my truths were spoken

Pink and cream as I healed inside

*

A variety of feelings surround me

I have an abundance of laughter and joy

Where I once felt completely unseen

Colors of the rainbow are now mine to employ

*

I discovered that I am amazing

I am strong and I’m able to love

what once I thought would destroy me

Instead made it clear, that I’m enough

*

These colors now serve as my armor

Symbolizing a victory of sorts

Worn proudly as a bright badge of honor

Proof of passage, a treasured passport

Photo by ConvertKit on Unsplash

With the lessons I’ve learned I am able

To help others find their colors too

I use my strengths to heal and enable

Those who are struggling to improve

*

My heart now beats red with compassion

Blue for others consumed in their hurt

Purple with purpose and elation

when I can help someone else from the dirt

*

What do you see when you look at me now

Do you see all my colors displayed

I am an array of different emotions

A vast Collection of strength on a page

Photo by Aashish R Gautam on Unsplash

What I have to offer is special

My experiences make me unique

I can help change my world around me

I need only to stand up and speak

*

No more waiting on someone to tell me

What my colors are or what they can do

I have all I need to begin and reveal

Bringing my palette in view

Originally published at https://vocal.media.

--

--